POWDERFINGER ‘Odyssey Number Five’ Anniv. Reissue 2CD


Only 1 left in stock (can be backordered)

Categories: , , ,


Officially re-issued on 4th Sept 2020, being exactly to the day, the 20th anniversary of it’s original release, the deluxe reissue of ODYSSEY NUMBER FIVE also provided an opportunity for the band to unveil previously unreleased recordings. The original 11-track album has been expanded to 21 recordings, boasting previously unheard acoustic arrangements of ‘My Happiness’ and ‘Up & Down & Back Again’, three B-sides from the time – ‘Nature Boy’, ‘Fuzzy Wolf’ and a sparsely-beautiful piano version of ‘Whatever Makes You Happy’ – and the addition of five covers that offer the biggest surprise and delight to core fans.

‘Love My Way’ (originally by Psychedelic Furs), ‘Rocket Reducer No. 62’ (originally by MC5) and ‘The Number Of The Beast’ (originally by Iron Maiden) will now be available for the first time digitally. The addition of a frenzied rendition of Joy Division’s ‘Transmission’ and a haunting take on Elvis Costello’s ‘Let Him Dangle’ – both previously unreleased – complete a sweep of covers that reveal the melting pot of influences that inform Powderfinger’s alchemy.

**I’ve always loved this band (& what each member has done since)…and whilst definitely not pc.correct…I just can’t help myself!!…has there ever been a better looking bunch of blokes in the one band…I ask you??” SB